Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

I have a soft spot in my heart for snickerdoodles. When I was 9 (10?), I won first place in the Merced County Fair with my snickerdoodles. They were that good.

These days, when I see anything “snickerdoodle,” I feel compelled to make it. I made snickerdoodle bread the other day that was out of this world, too. Here’s the recipe for that, should you be interested.

Tonight, I was itchin’ to make some more cupcakes before I left for my vacation in a few days. I think having this blog has made me addicted to making cupcakes. My friend Leah, who gets the benefit of eating most of my creations, encourages this addiction. (She’s easy to please and loves everything. Or at least she tells me she does. I love her.) Anyway, I saw these guys on my Pinterest board, had all the ingredients on hand, and the rest is history…

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes
(makes 28 cupcakes)

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups cake flour, sifted
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
1 3/4 cup sugar
4 eggs, room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 1/4 cups milk

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners and set aside. Sift together both flours, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.

In an electric mixer on medium-high speed, cream the butter and the sugar until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, until each is incorporated, scraping the bowl after each addition. Beat in the vanilla, and reduce the speed to low. Alternate adding the flour and the milk, beginning and ending with the flour.

Fill the cups 2/3 of the way full, and bake for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cupcake comes out clean.

(This recipe is Martha Stewart’s. She suggests frosting these guys with her Seven-Minute Frosting. I didn’t have enough eggs, so following is the frosting recipe I used.)

“That’s the Best Frosting I’ve Ever Had” frosting

Ingredients:
5 tablespoons flour
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup butter
1 cup sugar (regular sugar, not powdered)

Directions:
In a small saucepan, whisk the flour into the milk and heat over low heat, stirring constantly, until thickened. You want it to be very thick, like brownie batter. Let cool completely. You do not want it to be warm whatsoever before moving on to the next step.
Stir in the vanilla.
While the mixture is cooling, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy (you don’t want any sugar graininess left).  Add the completely cooled milk/flour mixture and beat it well. I mean…really well. If it starts to separate, you haven’t beaten it long enough. It may take a minute or more to accomplish the necessary texture. You want it to be like whipped cream.

*note: while this recipe is wonderful, I wish, for this particular dish, that it would have had some cinnamon in it to bring out the cinnamon goodness of the cupcakes. I think adding a teaspoon or so of ground cinnamon should do the trick.*

So, frost those bad boys up and sprinkle them with a little bit of ground cinnamon. Eat them immediately.

Fact: your cupcakes will only taste good if you have a handsome little helper.

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

  1. Bob Mathews says:

    So that’s the secret ingredient — a handsome little helper! Must’ve worked.

Leave a Reply

