Peanut Butter & Jelly Cupcakes

So someone told me that today was National Peanut Butter Lovers’ Day. I don’t know A. who makes up these days, and B. who finds out about them and how. I don’t really care. I love peanut butter and was thrilled to learn this bit of information. PB&J is kind of a staple around our house these days. It’s the only thing that my son will eat on a consistent basis (the “picky 2-year-old” stage isn’t my favorite). He’s going to lose his mind when I let him have one of these tomorrow. He didn’t get any tonight. He refused dinner. It wasn’t PB&J. I ate his for him.

This recipe I found on Pinterest is from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen blog. I suggest a few changes, which I will note as I go. *I, however, am not a professional baker, so the suggestions are just the changes I would make if I made them again. I’m not sure how it would turn out.*

Peanut Butter and Jelly Cupcakes:

Yields 24 cupcakes
Cupcake ingredients:
1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter, room temperature
1 1/3 cups sugar
2/3 cup creamy peanut butter
3 large eggs, room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup sour cream, room temperature
3/4 cup roughly chopped roasted peanuts (the original recipe says salted. I used unsalted)
1/2 cup jam or jelly, divided

Peanut Butter Frosting:
6 ounces cream cheese, room temperature (I would use 8 ounces)
1/3 cup powdered sugar (I would use 1/2 cup)
1/2 teaspoon salt (I would eliminate this altogether)
1 cup creamy peanut butter (I’d try 1/2 cup)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup heavy cream

Directions:
Adjust the oven rack to the lower-middle position and preheat to 375 degrees. Line muffin tins with cupcake liners and set aside.
In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt and set aside.
Cream together the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy. Reduce the mixer speed to low and mix in the peanut butter. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating until each is incorporated, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed. Mix in the vanilla then gradually add the flour mixture and beat until combined. Mix in the sour cream and peanuts.
Divide the batter evenly among the cupcake liners. Bake for 10 minutes, rotate the pan, and cook another 10 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Transfer to wire racks to cool.

To fill the cupcakes with jelly, place jelly in a decorating bag fitted with a small-to-medium sized round decorating tip (depending on how much jelly you want in the middle. I used a smaller one but I think a larger one would have been much better). Insert the tip into the center of the cupcake and gently squeeze the jelly into the cupcake. Repeat with remaining cupcakes (you may need more jelly than what the recipe calls for if you use a larger tip).
To make the frosting, beat the cream cheese and the powdered sugar until light and fluffy. Add salt (if using) and peanut butter and beat until well combined. Beat in vanilla.
In a separate bowl, use an electric mixer on medium speed to whisk the cream until medium-stiff peaks form. Be careful not to over-beat the cream! (I did. If you do, just add a splash more cream and stir gently with a fork.) Fold the cream into the peanut butter mixture.
Place frosting into a decorating bag fitted with the tip of your choice (depending on the style you want) and gently swirl the icing on the cupcakes. Top with a dollop of jelly.

the final product!

In my opinion, the cupcake I had before I added the icing was better, but maybe with the changes it would be better. The frosting was a little salty and a LOT peanutty, which isn’t terrible, but the ratio of peanut butter to jelly was better pre-frosting. But maybe that’s just me. Make them and judge for yourself. Then let me know how they turned out!

Big thanks to my big brother for helping me with the piping bags and tips and for being a taste tester (I really had to twist his arm).

Happy National Peanut Butter Lovers’ Day!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Peanut Butter & Jelly Cupcakes

  1. gaileo6 says:

    I love peanut butter! 🙂 and baking…and cupcakes…and blogging! have fun with your new blog!

Leave a Reply

