Honey Cupcakes

I love honey. I know a few people who don’t. I think they’re a little nuts. A friend of mine once referred to honey as “Satan’s nectar.” Honestly, I don’t know how we remained friends.
When I came across this Honey Cupcakes recipe on Pinterest, I knew they would have to be made. Soon. I had only planned on doing one cupcake blog a week, but I couldn’t wait a week to make these. I’m glad I didn’t wait. These things are serious. I’m a fan. I suggest if you like  honey you make these immediately.
(I have to give credit to the Half Baked blog for these little gems.)

Honey Cupcakes with Honey Cream Cheese Frosting
(makes a dozen cupcakes)

For the cupcakes:

1 stick of butter, room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup honey
1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line 12 muffin pans with cupcake liners.
In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
In a small bowl, mix together the buttermilk, honey, and vanilla. Set aside.
Cream together the butter and sugar on medium speed until combined. (It should be pale yellow and fluffy.)
Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition and scraping down the bowl as needed.
Alternate adding the dry and wet ingredients, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients. Mix until well combined.
Fill the cupcake liners about 2/3 full and bake for 18-20 minutes. (Here’s where I differed from the original recipe. I had to bake my cupcakes for 23 minutes. They are done when a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.)
Let the cupcakes cool completely, then ice with the Honey Cream Cheese Frosting.

For the frosting:
1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature (I used salted and it turned out great.)
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
3 cups powdered sugar
3 tablespoons honey
yellow food coloring (optional)
yellow sprinkles (optional)

Cream the butter and cream cheese until well combined. Gradually add the powdered sugar, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary. Mix until well combined. Mix in honey.
If desired, add a few drops of yellow food coloring until the desired shade of yellow is reached. (I used 5 drops and was pleased with the pale shade of yellow I got.)
Place the icing in a piping bag fitted with a round decorating tip and swirl the frosting on top of the cupcakes in a circular motion. Add yellow sprinkles, if desired, and enjoy!

*If you aren’t fancy enough to have piping bags and decorating tips (I only have access to them because my brother is a pastry chef), you can place the frosting in a Ziploc bag and snip a corner off. The more you snip off, the bigger the swirl you will have.*

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Honey Cupcakes

  1. LOVE honey! Wish I could try these. 😦 Maybe one day…

Leave a Reply

