The Cap 10k

Me, Debbie, Shelley. Ready to run!

Yesterday was the Cap 10k here in Austin. I registered for it several weeks ago because I was peer pressured by a coworker/friend of mine. She was running it with her roommate (with whom I ran my first 5k) and told me I should give it a shot. I didn’t think I was ready, because at that time, I was only up to 4 miles in my runs. Might as well do it, I thought. If I have to walk it’ll be fine; I’ll just run as long as I can.

Well, as you may (or may not) know, I got up to 5.5 miles, thanks to Jessica, though I wanted to shoot her (and myself) at the time. I felt a little more prepared for the race than I initially thought I’d be, and when Sunday morning came around, I was ready to run! (I was mostly counting on pure adrenaline to carry me through the last .7 miles to the finish line.) I was only slightly nervous.

The Cap 10k- the largest 10k race in Texas

When we got there and saw the other 25,000 (literally) runners there, I was both intimidated and encouraged. He looks pretty hard core, I thought to myself of one runner, but I can definitely beat her.Mind you, I am not an extremely competitive person, but I get to these races and I feel very insecure, so the way I make myself feel better is by sizing up everyone so I don’t think I’m the worst runner there. Don’t judge me. (I get that that sounds like the pot calling the kettle black, so let’s just move on?)

Well, I wasn’t the worst runner there. And I really shocked myself, because I didn’t stop to walk! Again, when we got to about 5.5 miles, I wanted to die. Or at least, I wanted to stop and walk. But I pushed through and actually, we kept a pretty steady pace throughout the race (which is amazing, because some of the hills were insane). Our goal was to finish in an hour and a half, and we beat that by about 14 minutes!


Through the finish line! (This picture was taken after we decided not to throw up.)

My bib, now on my bulletin board at work

If you haven’t noticed (as I have), there’s been an ongoing theme with regards to my running: I am constantly shocked/amazed at what I am capable of! If you would have told me a year and a half ago that I would be able to run a couple of miles with zero difficulty, I wouldn’t have believed you. If you would have told me I’d be running a 10k without walking, I would have slapped you and called you crazy. But here I am. And I’m going to keep running. Try to stop me.

*Just a reminder that I have moved to www.cupcakesandrunningshoes.com (this site), so please follow me here. I hope you will continue with me on my journey; it means so much to me that people actually care about my blog. Thank you!!

This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cap 10k

  1. Brooke says:

    So proud of you Lauren! Love the new site!

Leave a Reply

