Lemon Cream Cupcakes with Raspberry Frosting

I find myself pinning a lot of lemon things lately: lemon bars, pink lemonade ​cake​ (hello?! Can’t wait to make ​that!), and most recently, lemon cream cupcakes with raspberry frosting.  Is it because the weather is turning warmer and lemony things are so refreshing? Maybe. Do I simply have yet another food obsession? Perhaps.

Regardless, I was excited to make these last night.  I’m glad I did. They’re just perfect. The cake part was just the right consistency and the frosting wasn’t too raspberry-y (I just made up that word. It works, I think). The flavors blended together without competing with one another and…well…they just made me smile.

Good stuff.

​Lemon Cream Cupcakes with Raspberry Frosting
​makes 12 cupcakes

​Cupcake Ingredients:
​1/2 cup butter, room temperature
3 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
zest of 2 lemons
1 teaspoon lemon extract
2/3 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt

​Frosting Ingredients:
​2 sticks butter, softened
2-4 tablespoons fresh raspberry puree (strained, if seeds bother you. I didn’t strain mine and it wasn’t too seedy.)
4 1/2 cups powdered sugar ​(this is what the original recipe called for. I used closer to 5, since adding the raspberry puree thinned it out a bit)
raspberries for garnish, optional

​Directions:
To make the cupcakes: ​Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with cupcake liners.
Beat together the butter, cream cheese, lemon zest, and sugar until well blended, then beat in the eggs and extract  and beat until smooth. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt.
Gradually add the flour mixture to the cream cheese mixture and beat on low speed until just combined.
Divide the batter evenly among the cupcake cups.
Bake for 25 minutes or until firm to the touch.  Let cool for a few minutes in the pan, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

To make the frosting: Beat the butter with an electric mixer until it is fluffy and pale. Gradually add in the powdered sugar and mix on low speed until it is paste-like. One tablespoon at a time, add the raspberry puree until the frosting has reached a good piping consistency (or, if not piping, a good spreading consistency). Frost the cooled cupcakes and garnish with a fresh raspberry, if desired.

So, I had a lot of frosting left. Like, a lot. Seemed like such a waste to throw it away. I always hate doing that. So, based on this idea I saw on Pinterest, I made these fellas:

…and they’re pretty yummy! Just smear some of the frosting between two graham crackers and freeze. Easy!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lemon Cream Cupcakes with Raspberry Frosting

  1. angel says:

    Will be baking these. Thanks Lauren!

    • Lauren says:

      Let me know how they turn out! I was also thinking it might be fun to put a little yellow food coloring into the cake batter to make them look more “lemony.”

  2. Danny says:

    Your new site looks great! And this recipe looks so light and yummy!

  3. lwilson says:

    These were fantastic! I love the combo of the tart and the sweet. Thanks for the cupcake delivery.

  4. Jenny says:

    Hello there. This is Jen from Pinterest. I took your advice and created my own blog too. I added you to my list of fave blogs and even meantioned you in my first post! Thanks for the suggestion. 🙂
    Keep up the great work.

  5. Pingback: | My attempt to cook my way through Pinterest while training for my first half marathon…but not simultaneously

Leave a Reply

