Chocolate Mint Oreo Cupcakes

I had a great weekend. One of my son’s little friends had a birthday party yesterday and then we went to a small little local carnival with my brother and his son. We knew the boys would have fun, but the smiles on their faces and the shrieks of joy made me want to stay there with them all night. Connor went to bed about 2 hours past his bedtime. Totally worth it.

I also made something yummy. I mean, really yummy. I usually have 1 or 2 cupcakes from each “blog batch” I make, and I’m about to eat my 4th. What’s that tell you? OK, I won’t tease you anymore. Here’s the recipe from the Half Baked blog (a need-to-follow blog, for sure. I love it):

Chocolate Mint Oreo Cupcakes
makes 24 cupcakes

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 box Devil’s Food Cake Mix
1 small box (3.9 oz) instant chocolate pudding
1 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup milk
4 eggs
24 Cool Mint Oreos

Frosting Ingredients:
2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup vegetable shortening
6 cups powdered sugar
3 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon mint extract (“mint,” not “peppermint”!)
green food coloring
12 Cool Mint Oreos, crushed (this means you will need 2 boxes of these Oreos. I was not aware of this and had to bribe my brother to go to the store for me)

Directions:
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a muffin tin (or two, if you’re lucky to have that many) with cupcakes liners. Place an Oreo cookie in the bottom of each liner.
In a medium bowl, combine the cake mix, pudding, vegetable oil, milk, and eggs. Beat with an electric mixer until incorporated, then beat for another 2 minutes. The batter will be very thick.
Scoop the batter over the tops of the Oreos in the cupcake liners. Bake for 20-22 minutes (I baked mine for 25), or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean.
Let the cupcakes cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then transfer them to a wire rack to finish cooling. When they are completely cooled, frost with the Crushed Oreo Mint Frosting.

To make the frosting: Beat the butter and the shortening with an electric mixer until light and creamy. Gradually add in the powdered sugar one cup at a time, scraping the bowl as necessary. Add the milk one tablespoon at a time until the frosting has reached the desired consistency.
Add the mint extract and the green food coloring to tint to desired color (I used 5 drops- accidentally. I meant to do 3). Mix in the crushed Oreos, place in a piping bag, and swirl on top of cooled cupcakes. Garnish with an Oreo (or half an Oreo, which would also be cute), and try not to eat them all immediately. Have a tall glass of cold milk handy- you’ll need it for sure! Mmm…my mouth is watering. Time for cupcake number 4…or 5…

**My friend Cecilia once asked me about cupcake decorating and getting the swirlies (yep, I made that word up) just right. I am by no means a pro- every blog post is a means of practicing for me! Here is a video tutorial I found on Pinterest that might be helpful. Warning: she makes it look REALLY easy!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Chocolate Mint Oreo Cupcakes

  1. Jenny says:

    Yummy. It sounds and looks delish! Ty btw for stopping by. IF you have a way to link my blog on here too I would really appriciate it. I’m gonna start posting it on Pinterest everytime I have an update. At least for now until I have a following. You should do the same. 🙂
    I have had a few people pin my site so I’m on my way!! Thanks for the suggestion again!
    Cheers.

  2. Jen says:

    Thanks a bunch! 🙂

  3. Danny says:

    I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award — Can’t wait to read more!

  4. Lauren says:

    Danny! Thank you so much! That means a lot. I was just about to read that post; I’ll check it out now. I always enjoy your blog as well- and I can’t wait to make that mac & cheese recipe (who doesn’t love mac & cheese?)!

  5. Cecilia says:

    Oh, is that all??? I just need a cute apron and some catchy music! Thanks for the video tip 😉

  6. Pingback: | My attempt to cook my way through Pinterest while training for my first half marathon…but not simultaneously

  7. Pingback: Cookies and Cream Cupcakes |

Leave a Reply

