Peanut Butter Stuffed Hot Fudge Cupcakes

So instead of running the other night, I made something yummy. I haven’t been running in over a week. I’m sure I’ll pay for it on my next run. Jessica will kick my butt (sorry, Jess).

Not only did I make something yummy, I made something decadent and rich and totally worth the calories. For real. Make. These. Cupcakes. Now.

I say that a lot, don’t I?

Have I mentioned I’ve gained weight since I started writing this blog? Worth it. I’m having a blast and making delicious things and meeting some nice people in the process. (The internet. Bringing people together. How about that?!) A couple of my favorite new “blog friends” are Jenny (who is Canadian but I still like her. She’s cool and nice and has a great blog), and Danny (who is always making dishes that look really complicated but seem easy but are probably actually complicated, and who nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. *blushing*). Check out their blogs, peeps. It’s good stuff.

Anyway, Peanut Butter Stuffed Hot Fudge Cupcakes. Yesssssss. Comfort food at its finest. I mean, seriously. I got two marriage proposals from people who ate these (one was a woman, but whatever). They’re that good. Here’s the original recipe, and here’s mine, which is only slightly different:

Oh, yeah. Uh-huh. YUM!

Peanut Butter Stuffed Hot Fudge Cupcakes
makes 12 cupcakes

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons flour
1/4 cup dark cocoa powder
1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon heavy cream
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 tablespoons sour cream
1/4 cup fudge sauce (the original recipe provides the recipe for the fudge sauce, but it seemed like a lot of work and I just wanted to eat! I used Bosco, which is like Hershey’s syrup, but thicker. You can follow the link to the original if you want to make it homemade. Mine tasted great with the Bosco, but I’m sure with the homemade sauce they would have been even better!)

Frosting Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter, softened
2/3 cup peanut butter
3-4 cups powdered sugar (to get the right consistency, I had to use closer to 4 1/2)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-2 tablespoons milk
pinch of salt

Directions:
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners and set aside.
In a bowl, whisk the egg and sugar until no lumps remain. Add the milk, cream, butter, and vanilla and mix until combined. Stir in the sour cream.
Sift the dry ingredients together and add to the wet mixture. Mix until the batter is smooth, and swirl in the fudge sauce. Add about 1/4 cup batter to each cupcake liner. Bake for 15-18 minutes (I baked mine closer to 20 minutes). Remove from oven and let cool a few minutes in the pan before cooling completely on wire racks.

To make the frosting: Cream the butter and peanut butter together in a bowl with an electric mixer. With the mixer on low speed, gradually add the powdered sugar. Slowly add the milk and vanilla. Mix until the frosting is smooth. If too thick, add a little more milk. If too thin, add a little more powdered sugar. Pipe onto completely cooled cupcakes. (The original recipe also had you put some of the buttercream inside the cupcake, but I found it made them a little rich. Next time I make them, I won’t fill them. If this isn’t something that bothers you, fill away! Again, consult the original recipe if you need instructions on how to do that.)

Top with more fudge sauce (or Bosco or Hershey’s), and consume immediately.

milk is a necessary accompaniment!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peanut Butter Stuffed Hot Fudge Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Mini Chocolate Blueberry Cupcakes | |

Leave a Reply

