Vegan Jelly Donut Cupcakes

On a run the other night, my “sensei” Jessica (remember her? I only talk about her in every post) informed me that I needed to make a vegan cupcake. She told me that she reads my blog (uh-oh) and that it wasn’t fair for her because her mouth is always watering but she can’t make any of my cupcakes.

She’s a weird vegan.

One of “those.”

I could never be vegan. Not that I can’t give up meat. I don’t really care about that (though I do enjoy a nice steak). It’s the dairy that would kill me. I love me some cheese. I mean, I really love me some cheese.

Back to Jessica: I told her I had just the recipe. I’d found it the day before and was desperate to try it. I asked her if she wanted to be my guest blogger. She was super excited and the rest is history. So here she is…Jessica! *Cue drum roll*

Hey All! It’s funny that Lauren says I’m a weird vegan because I’ve also recently been told that I am a bad vegan- since I don’t experiment with vegan recipes. Apparently I’m not allowed to live on salad and Kashi. Imagine my excitement when she asked me to come make cupcakes with her that I would be able to eat!!! (And to tell my friend that I am no longer a bad vegan.)

It became very evident when we got started that I don’t experiment with recipes much because Lauren had to school me a little today in the kitchen! I learned how to measure flour (umm yeah I didn’t know how), sift flour (well if I can’t even measure it properly…), and a host of other handy tricks. If only Grandma could see me now! Meanwhile, Lauren is zipping around the kitchen like an old pro and being very patient with my rookie speed.

Now I should tell you- I don’t know the last time I had a cupcake. I mean I truly don’t remember. I think if I had known that my last cupcake would be my LAST cupcake, I would have made it count, but once I bit into one of these little guys, I knew there was no going back to my non-dessert making ways! We were supposed to wait and leave them overnight before eating them, but that clearly wasn’t happening. When we taste-tested them, they were still nice and warm…they had a very cakey texture that I LOVED! We used vanilla almond milk instead of plain soy milk, and that combined with using Mexican vanilla (which I also discovered today and is so much more “vanilla-y” than vanilla extract), gave them a really great flavor, but they weren’t overly sweet or rich. For those of you who are leery of these because they are vegan, dive in!! They are delicious! I can’t wait to come back and make more cupcakes with my baking “sensei” Lauren!

Vegan Jelly Donut Cupcakes
makes 12 cupcakes

Ingredients:
1 cup soy milk
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup canola oil
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/3 cup jam- strawberry, raspberry, and grape all work well
Powdered sugar, for dusting

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a muffin tin with cupcake liners. In a liquid measuring cup, combine the soy milk, vinegar, and cornstarch, stirring until all of the cornstarch lumps are gone. Set aside.
In a large mixing bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture for the wet ingredients.
Stir the soy milk mixture again to make sure all of the cornstarch is dissolved, then pour into the well. Add the oil, sugar, and vanilla and mix well, stirring until all lumps are gone and mixture is well combined.
Fill the liners with the batter about half full. Place a spoonful of jam into the center of each cupcake, being careful not to overfill. The jam will sink to the bottom during baking. (Here’s where I’ll do it differently WHEN I make these again: I will fill the cupcake liners about 1/3 full with batter, spoon the jam in, and put a little more batter on top of the jam. [Just make sure not to fill them too full. They do puff up nicely when they bake.] The reason for this change is because they look, Jess and I were commenting, like open wounds when they come out of the oven. They have little holes in the top with red jelly on the inside…like a puncture wound. A little gross, I know, but she’s in nursing school and I was a nursing major for a little while, so we liked it.)
Bake the cupcakes for 21-23 minutes. Cool completely on a wire rack, and then set them uncovered in a cool dry place overnight. This will make the tops slightly crispy, like a donut crust. Using a sifter, sprinkle with a little powdered sugar on the tops before serving. Enjoy!

Looks good, doesn’t it?!

Ready to give vegan cooking a shot?

How about now?

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegan Jelly Donut Cupcakes

  1. gail says:

    just printed this so I can make them this weekend. thanks for thinking of us ‘weird’ vegans 🙂

    • Lauren says:

      Sure! Enjoy them! Be sure to let me know what you thought. 🙂 I’ll try to post vegan recipes from time to time. Just for you…and Jessica.

Leave a Reply

