White Chocolate Cupcakes

I did something bad. I mean good. I mean bad.

I made some pretty amazing cupcakes. Yeah, yeah. All my cupcakes are amazing (duh), but these are legit. I’ve eaten 2 so far. And by “2”, I mean “4.” OK, 5.

I’m not even a huge white chocolate person. Sure, I’ll eat it when it’s smothering a pretzel or drizzled on a strawberry, but I generally don’t seek out white chocolate confections. I made them for my friend Leah, who is obsessed with all things white chocolate. I think I’ve eaten more of them than she has. On an unrelated note, I have a slight cupcake addiction.

I altered the recipe a little, partly from sheer laziness (I used a box mix- something I only like to do sometimes) and partly because I couldn’t find enough white chocolate truffles that were only white chocolate. (I used Lindor truffles, and their white chocolate truffles are apparently hard to come by around here. The ones I kept finding were white chocolate with milk chocolate flecks. I used some pure truffles and some “fleck-y” truffles. Both are incredible.) The original recipe is from the Pampered Chef website. You can find it here.

White Chocolate Cupcakes
(adapted from Pampered Chef)
Makes 20-24 cupcakes

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 box white cake mix, plus ingredients necessary- egg whites, oil, etc
24 white chocolate truffles (I used Lindor truffles but any kind of truffle you can find will do.)

Frosting Ingredients:
6 ounces white chocolate bark, chopped
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup butter, softened
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
3 cups powdered sugar

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 325 degrees (the box may say 350. Trust me and do 325). Meanwhile, mix the cake mix according to the package directions, and pour into two muffin tins that have been lined with cupcake liners. Fill 2/3 full, and bake according to the time on the box (usually about 17-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean).
Remove pans from the oven and immediately remove the cores with a paring knife. I usually use an apple corer but in this case, it didn’t make a large enough hole. Cut your own big enough to drop a truffle into, but make sure not to cut all the way to the bottom! You want the truffle to be flush with the top of the cupcake. They will begin to melt almost immediately. Remove the cupcakes to wire racks to cool completely.
Meanwhile, make the frosting: Melt the white chocolate bark in the microwave or double boiler. Stir until smooth. Let stand 3 minutes or until slightly cooled. In the bowl of a stand mixer, mix the bark, cream cheese, butter, and vanilla. Beat on medium speed until smooth and well blended. Add the powdered sugar a cup at a time, mixing completely between additions.
When cupcakes have cooled completely, pipe the frosting on top and remember to share.

An army of cupcakes...waiting to be eaten

I have a real problem.

Gooey awesomeness.

 

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

