Fudgey Brownie Cupcakes

I did it again.

I made something great, despite my lack of supplies in the pantry (and fridge). I’m kind of a big deal.

OK, I’m not, since I didn’t make up this recipe. But I still kind of am.

Let’s talk brownies, shall we?

Who doesn’t love brownies? Weirdos, that’s who. Just kidding. Sort of. Not really. But seriously, brownies are awesome. I like mine fudgey and cakey, which is a hard combination to have, but these guys have them. When you are making brownies from a box mix, you have to choose: fudgey or cakey. Then you follow the directions for whichever one you choose. But you can’t have both.

Except now you can.

This recipe is from Jessica at How Sweet It Is, which is an amazing blog that I follow religiously. She is witty and precious and always makes yummy things and I am convinced we would be friends in “real” life. When I saw her recipe staring at me from my Pinterest page, it grabbed my attention because, of course, I love brownies. I looked. I had all the ingredients. Well, I was a little short on eggs but luckily my brother lives next door so he grabbed some for me. So then I got started. And then I messed up. So then I had to change the frosting a bit. I used a recipe from the one and only Martha. I knew it’d be good. You can find it here. I cut it in half for this recipe and I had the perfect amount. (Posted are the amounts I used.)

So…the following recipe is what I ended up with. I was pleased with the results. They were crunchy on the outside, but fudgey yet cakey on the inside and so full of brownie goodness! The frosting added just a touch of sweetness without being overbearing or taking away from the brownie. 

Sometimes a mess-up can lead you to a beautiful thing (not just in baking- in life, too. Think about that one).

Fudgey Brownie Cupcakes with Mascarpone Frosting
makes about 20 cupcakes

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 stick butter
3 squares Baker’s chocolate (I used unsweetened)
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 cup flour
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup chocolate chips

Frosting Ingredients:
1/2 cup heavy cream
4 ounces mascarpone cheese, room temperature
1/4 cup powdered sugar, sifted

Directions:
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 muffin tins with cupcake liners and, if desired, also spray the liners.
In a microwave-safe bowl, melt the butter and the chocolate. Place melted mixture into a mixing bowl and mix on medium speed for a minute or so. Add the sugar and vanilla and beat until fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the flour and the cocoa powder and mix just until combined. Fold in the chocolate chips by hand. Fill each cupcake liner about 2/3 of the way full (you can even to 3/4, if you want a larger cupcake. These will not rise a whole lot). Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Let cool for a few minutes in the pan, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.
To make the frosting: With an electric mixer on medium speed, whisk the heavy cream until stiff peaks form (do not overbeat, or the cream will be grainy). In another bowl, whisk together the mascarpone and powdered sugar until smooth. Gently fold the whipped cream into the mascarpone mixture until completely incorporated. Use immediately (well, when the cupcakes are cooled). Sprinkle with cinnamon, if desired.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

