Snickers Cupcakes

Administrative Assistant’s Day was last week. Did you know that? Did you hug your Administrative Assistant? Well, don’t. That may be perceived as inappropriate and might result in a lawsuit. But, you should thank him/her. AAs work hard and are under-appreciated.

But not where I work. We love our Leslie and we take care of her, because she takes such good care of us. We’re throwing her a surprise party today (she was in a training seminar last week for AA Day). We’re having tacos and, of course, cupcakes by Lauren! (I volunteered. Duh.)

Leslie is a candy-holic. She’s always got some fun-sized candy bars (why do they call them that?! I do not find them fun whatsoever. In fact, I find them a little frustrating. Just as I’m starting to enjoy myself, the candy bar’s gone. But I digress…) in the freezer in our office and I like to steal eat them from time to time. I knew what cupcakes I had to make. I knew because I’d been eying them for some time now and wanted them myself. I knew if I wanted them, surely Leslie did, too. She’s got good taste.

The original recipe comes from My Baking Addiction, which is an incredible blog, if you aren’t already aware of that. 
These cupcakes are moist (hate that word, but they are. Very) and the Snickers in the middle of the cupcake is a fun surprise (y’all know I love a cupcake with a bonus), and the caramel buttercream frosting is…well…there are no words. Just make them. And then after you pick yourself up off the floor, share them with others. We need to get the word out about these bad boys.

Snickers Cupcakes
makes about 30 cupcakes

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 box devil’s food cake mix
1 (5.9 ounce) box instant chocolate pudding mix
1 cup sour cream
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup warm water
1 teaspoon vanilla
30 frozen Snickers Minis

Frosting Ingredients:
2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup shortening
2 teaspoons vanilla
3 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup caramel topping, plus more for drizzling
1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a couple of muffin tins with cupcake liners and set aside. In a large bowl, mix together the cake and pudding mixes, sour cream, oil, beaten eggs, vanilla, and water. (I just used a handheld mixer, but the batter is thick and I think next time I will use the stand mixer.) Place a few tablespoons (2 or 3) of batter into the liners, then place a frozen Snickers on top. Top with a couple more tablespoons of the batter (careful not to fill them too full or your cupcakes will overflow). Bake for 18-22 minutes (I had to bake mine for 23), or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean and the tops are springy.  Cool the cupcakes for a few minutes in the pans, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

To make the frosting: Cream the butter and shortening in the bowl of a stand mixer. Add the vanilla, salt, and caramel syrup and combine well. Slowly add the sugar, about 1/2 cup at a time, blending well after each addition. After all the sugar has been mixed in, give it a taste to see if you’d like more caramel. For thicker frosting, simply add more powdered sugar.
Pipe onto completely cooled cupcakes and drizzle with a little more caramel. Chop up some Snickers for garnish, if desired.

You might want to make these in bulk. They’re going to go fast.  

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

