Banana Bread Cupcakes

We like bananas in my family. My son, who is 2, goes through phases where he takes them down like no other food even exists. (Then other days he wants nothing to do with them but I hear that’s normal for a toddler.) I will almost never turn down a perfectly ripe banana, but I am sort of picky about the ripeness. If it’s got too many brown spots on it, forget it. It’s not happening. We all like banana bread. Are there people out there who don’t? I haven’t met one yet, but I hear they exist.

When my mom came back from the grocery store last week with a HUGE bunch of bananas, I knew that we’d never eat them all before they turned brown. We like bananas but come on. This thing was massive. I sort of got excited because I’d been wanting to make these cupcakes. I even convinced my dad to buy some dark rum so I could make them (I was too lazy/poor to go get it myself. Don’t judge). I was so excited to make them, in fact, that I all but dove across the kitchen to stop my mom from making banana pudding out of them (you may remember my distaste for banana pudding, so the reason for my stopping her was actually two-fold. Whatevs). She begrudgingly walked out of the kitchen. She’s sick of cupcakes. I may or may not be adopted.

If you like banana bread, you’ll love these, guaranteed. If you don’t, well…I don’t know what to say to you, except maybe these will convert you? Yeah, they’re that good. The cake part is soft and fluffy (I won’t use the “M” word again, but they are) and, I think, actually is better than banana bread. There, I said it.
The frosting is cinnamon. And cream cheese. And a LOT of powdered sugar. How can you go wrong with that? The cupcakes are great without it, but the frosting really just kicks things up a few notches and makes you go a little weak in the knees. You should probably eat them sitting down.

Banana Bread Cupcakes
(adapted from A Dash of Sass)
makes 24-30 cupcakes

Cupcake Ingredients:
2 1/4 cup cake flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 1/2 cups mashed bananas (about 3-4 bananas)
1/4 cup buttermilk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 tablespoons dark, spiced rum
2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
1 1/3 cup sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature

Frosting Ingredients:
2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, room temperature
2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
5 cups powdered sugar, sifted
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin tins with cupcake liners and set aside.
In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside. In a separate bowl, combine the mashed banana, buttermilk, vanilla, and rum. Set aside.
In a large mixing bowl, beat together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, blending well between additions. Once the eggs are fully combined, alternate adding the wet and dry ingredients, beginning and ending with the dry. Scoop batter into the cupcake liners, filling about 2/3 full. Bake 18-20 minutes (I baked mine for 23) or until a toothpick comes out clean and the tops are springy. (They will also be a lovely golden brown color.) Let cool in the pans for a few minutes, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.
To make the frosting: Beat the butter and cream cheese together until completely smooth. Add the powdered sugar, 1 cup at a time, until the frosting reaches your desired consistency and sweetness (you may use more or less than 5 cups- I put what I used. The original recipe says 5-6 cups). Blend in salt, vanilla, and cinnamon.
Once cupcakes are completely cooled, pipe with the frosting and enjoy!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Banana Bread Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: | My attempt to cook my way through Pinterest while training for my first half marathon…but not simultaneously

Leave a Reply

