Chuy's Hot to Trot 5k

I took my running class to another 5k yesterday. I’m really proud of them- they have been trying really hard and were really ready to improve their time from the last race. So was I.

Going into the race, I was actually not optimistic about reaching my goal of finishing in 30 minutes. We had our volunteer banquet for work the night before and let’s just say I wasn’t exactly hydrating. I wasn’t even really sure I would be able to run the whole thing.

My guys and gals did really well. Remember the guy who won a trophy at the last 5k? He beat his time by a minute! He was really proud of himself. In fact, I had to explain to him- several times- that there would be no trophies this time. I get it. I want a trophy, too.

Thanks to my running buddy Shelley, I was not only able to run the whole time, but I beat my time from the last race. (I totally give Shelley the credit here, because she set the pace and basically forced me to keep up with her. If left to my own devices, I would have surely slowed down and finished at about the same pace as the last 5k- or maybe even done worse.) My time from the last race was 36:57, and this time is was 33:01- a significant improvement, in my book! I didn’t reach my goal of 30 minutes, but considering I hadn’t really been running much, was out late the night before, and woke up super early that morning, I’ll take it! I’m still proud of myself. That’s all that matters. I’ll reach the 30 minute goal soon. Perhaps I should look for another race to run…

This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

