Blueberry Lemon Cupcakes

Remember when I wrote about the Lemon Cream Cupcakes with Raspberry Frosting and I mentioned that I had been craving lemon-y things lately? Well…the lemon thing has been kicked into overdrive since then as the weather is considerably warmer. What is it about summer that just makes you want lemon? I don’t know but here’s the thing: I also have been craving berries. Strawberries, blueberries, blackberries…I want them all.

Preferrably in cupcake form. Of course.

Here’s the other thing: I was never aware of how great blueberries and lemons are together. Although it seems logical, if you think about it, since strawberries and raspberries are also wonderful with lemons (hello? I’m a sucker for strawberry lemonade. Forget about it).

Here’s the other other thing: Your Cup of Cake is very quickly becoming my favorite blog. All of her cupcakes that I’ve made have been UH-mazing, and she has done just about every flavor cupcake under the sun! When I saw these, I knew they had to be made, and SOON! 

And I’m so glad I did. The lemon and blueberry are such great compliments to one another: the blueberries are slightly sweet, and the citrus-y, slightly-sour-but-still-sweet lemon frosting counteracts that in a lovely way. The fresh blueberries just kind of burst in your mouth when you bite into the cupcake and it’s really a nice surprise. The hint of cinnamon in the cake is more of an afterthought but it goes with the cupcakes well, and almost makes them sort of muffin-y.

My mom said she was thrown off by the texture because she was thinking it would be more like a muffin than it was. I guess that means she liked it? My dad (whom I’ve told you before is sort of a tough critic), said they were “really good,” which, in normal-people’s terms, means “amazing.” A lady from my church called them “heavenly,” and I am, as we speak, eating my fourth one. What’s that tell you?

Make ’em.

Eat ’em.

Love ’em.

Blueberry Lemon Cupcakes
makes 24-30 cupcakes

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 box white cake mix
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/3 cup oil
2 eggs
2 egg whites
3/4 cup buttermilk
3/4 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries
1 tablespoon flour

Frosting Ingredients:
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
zest of 3 lemons
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 teaspoons lemon juice
3-5 cups powdered sugar

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line two cupcake pans with liners and set aside. Sift cake mix and cinnamon into a medium bowl and set aside. In a large bowl, gently whisk oil, eggs, egg whites, buttermilk, sour cream, and vanilla together. Add the cake mix and stir until smooth.
In a small bowl, toss the blueberries with the flour (this will help them not to sink to the bottom of the cupcakes). Add the blueberries to the batter and gently fold them in.
Fill the liners 3/4 full and bake for 15-22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean. Let cool in the pan for a few minutes, then remove to wire racks to cool completely.

To make the frosting: Beat the cream cheese, butter, and lemon zest for 3 minutes on medium speed, scraping down the bowl as needed. Add the lemon juice and the vanilla. Add the powdered sugar, one cup at a time, until the desired consistency is reached. Using a round tip (so the lemon zest won’t clog up the tip), pipe onto cooled cupcakes. 

I’ve made a mental note to use this frosting recipe on other kinds of cupcakes as well, so watch for that. It’s happening.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blueberry Lemon Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: | My attempt to cook my way through Pinterest while training for my first half marathon…but not simultaneously

Leave a Reply

