Blueberry Pancake Cupcakes with Maple Buttercream

Let’s talk about cupcakes for breakfast.

I personally don’t see a problem with it. I even wanted to name my blog “Cupcakes for Breakfast” but I thought it might confuse some people. We won’t get into that now. The point is, I would eat cupcakes for breakfast every day if it was socially acceptable. (Incidentally, the week after my birthday, I throw out all concern with what is socially acceptable and eat birthday cake for breakfast until it’s gone. And then I’m sad. Or maybe I’m sad because I’m old. Wait. What were we talking about?)

Blueberry pancakes. Does everyone just love them or what? They’re seriously delicious and never ever have I heard anyone tell me they disliked them. I’m not sure what I’d do if I met someone who didn’t like them. Stare at them blankly, probably, because I would be so in shock. Obviously, we could never be friends.

I had some leftover blueberries from the Blueberry Lemon Cupcakes and just so happened to be on the Your Cup of Cake blog- again- and saw these. Sold.

Now, let me say this: I HATE maple syrup maybe more than anything else on the face of the Earth. It’s sticky and stinky and you can never wash off the smell no matter how hard you scrub. Ever. It’s like that Seinfeld episode where Jerry has the B.O. smell in his car and it attaches itself to everything and no one can get rid of it. Just. Like. That. Yuck.

That being said, there is a maple buttercream on the tops of these bad boys that is (gasp!) delightful. It really makes them taste pancake-y and it’s nice. I think the reason I can tolerate it is because it’s just a faint smell- not overpowering like straight syrup- and it’s not sticky. And it won’t attach itself to you and never leave.

The original recipe called for Mapleine, which is artificial maple flavoring. Now, there is just no way I was going to spend money on this. I can’t see myself using it- ever- and it’s like $23, so no. I subbed an extra teaspoon of maple syrup instead (sugar-free, because a) that’s what my parents had in their pantry, and b) maple syrup doesn’t have as strong of a flavor as Mapleine, and c) because there’s already a ton of powdered sugar in the frosting).

You should make these. And eat them for breakfast. No one will judge you because they are, after all, pancake cupcakes. 

Blueberry Pancake Cupcakes with Maple Buttercream
makes about 2 dozen cupcakes

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
3 eggs
2 egg whites
3 1/3 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 cup sour cream
1/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries

Frosting Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter, softened
8 ounces cream cheese, softened (or at least room temperature)
3 teaspoons maple syrup
4 cups powdered sugar
milk, as needed for thinning (I didn’t need any)

Directions:
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line two cupcake tins with liners and set aside.
Beat butter and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy. On low speed, add eggs and egg whites one at a time, beating after each addition to make sure they are fully incorporated. In a separate bowl, sift the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg together. Alternate adding the flour mixture and the wet ingredients (sour cream, milk, vanilla), beginning and ending with the flour, and being careful not to over-mix. Fold in the blueberries by hand.
Fill each cupcake liner 3/4 full and bake for about 18 minutes, or until the tops spring back when pressed and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let cool in the pans for a few minutes, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.
To make the frosting: Beat the butter and cream cheese on medium speed for a few minutes, until light and fluffy. Add syrup and powdered sugar and beat again until fully blended. If needed, add a little milk to thin out the frosting. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes and enjoy!

*Note: I got about 34 cupcakes from this recipe, actually, and ran out of frosting. This is not a big deal, because they are just as good without it, but if you want frosting on all of your cupcakes, you may need to double this frosting recipe.

Breakfast is served.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blueberry Pancake Cupcakes with Maple Buttercream

  1. Pingback: French Toast Cupcakes | |

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon Roll-Stuffed Cupcakes |

Leave a Reply

