Double Almond Mini Cupcakes

I’m starting to get orders for my cupcakes. This is exciting for a few reasons, not the least of which is the fact that I will get to try more recipes and actually have a reason for it…or get paid for it. One of the orders for next month is mini cupcakes for a baby shower.

This made me a little nervous. I’d only tried it once or twice before, with catastrophic results. I figured I’d better purchase a mini cupcake tin and get to practicing. (I had been using a mini muffin tin; not sure if that’s the problem or not but I didn’t want to take chances.)

I wanted to start with an easy recipe; it seemed kind of silly to make a high-maintenance recipe for a tiny little cupcake. So I chose these from the Betty Crocker website. I have recently discovered how much I enjoy almond extract and I was excited to make them.

They turned out really great. So great, in fact, that I may or may not have eaten about 17 of them. They had just the right amount of almond flavor, and they weren’t at all dry like some of my other mini cupcake disasters had been. These would be perfect for a baby or bridal shower. Or a Tuesday. They’d be perfect for a Tuesday.


Double Almond Mini Cupcakes
makes about 68 mini cupcakes

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 box white cake mix and all the necessary ingredients
1 tablespoon almond extract

Frosting Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups butter, softened
2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons whipping cream
2 teaspoons almond extract

Directions:
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 320 degrees. Line a mini cupcake tin with mini cupcake liners and set aside. (To make standard sized cupcakes, simply increase the oven temperature to 350 and bake a little longer, about 20 minutes.)
Prepare the cake batter according to box directions, but also add the almond extract. Fill the liners about 3/4 full and bake for 13 minutes, or until the tops feel springy and a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean. Let cool completely on wire racks.
To make the frosting: Beat the butter and powdered sugar with an electric mixer on low speed until blended. Increase the speed to high and add the whipping cream and almond extract and beat until well blended and fluffy. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes.


This was, like, my 27th cupcake. Whatever.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

