Chocolate Cupcakes with Cookie Dough Frosting

I moved my son into an “official” big boy bed tonight. (He’d been in his convertible crib, so he was technically in a big boy bed but not really. We both knew he was still in his crib.)

The reason I’m still sane right now is because he’s really only sleeping on a big boy mattress, so I can still justify that he’s actually not growing up too fast. My mom found him a cute loft bed and bought it for him. It’s not here yet so he’s on the mattress on the floor. But I still had to buy his first set of actual sheets (not crib sheets), which means I had to find them in an actual bedding section (not the bedding section of the baby section).

OK. So maybe I’m not still sane. I might be going a little crazy with all of this. I mean, first potty training and now a big boy bed- in the same month?!

It’s all just so much to take in.

So let’s talk about something that will cheer me up, shall we?

Cookie Dough Frosting. How ridiculous (read: awesome) is that?! My mind was blown when I saw this tutorial on Pinterest. Cookie dough. As frosting.

Whaaaat?!

I gave it a shot the other night. So wonderful that I’m pretty sure it’s against some sort of law. Fo’ realz, y’all.

And it’s really easy, too, which is another bonus. I cheated on the cake part, because I wanted to concentrate on the frosting. I used a Devil’s Food cake mix, but you can use whatever base you want. Chocolate and vanilla are obvious choices, but really this stuff would be amazing on literally anything. Literally.

Oh, also, the really REALLY amazing part of it? It doesn’t have to just be frosting. You can use it as a sweet party dip with animal crackers or pretzels. Who doesn’t like to munch on raw cookie dough, I ask you? The best part is that this stuff is safe because it’s egg-free (although, who are we kidding? Does the fear of salmonella really stop anyone from eating raw cookie dough? Nope).

So here’s the point of my blog tonight: if you do nothing else this weekend, make this stuff. For serious. You won’t regret it. Ever. And you may make a few new friends and be the cool kid on the block. Not that I’m speaking from experience…because I am the cool kid on the block.

 Chocolate (or whatever) Cupcakes with Cookie Dough Frosting
makes 24 cupcakes
adapted from the Cupcake Project

Cupcake Ingredients:
Cake mix flavor of your choice (or your favorite cupcake recipe), and the necessary ingredients- eggs, oil, water

Frosting Ingredients:
2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla
4 tablespoons milk
1/2 cup heavy cream

To make the cupcakes: Bake according to package directions (though I recommend baking at 325 degrees rather than 350). Let cool for a few minutes in the pans, then remove to wire racks to cool completely.

To make the frosting: Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl (this part can be done by hand). Transfer to the bowl of a stand mixer and add the cram. Mix well. If the frosting is too thin, add flour a tablespoon at a time until it reaches the right consistency. If it’s too thick, add milk a tablespoon at a time. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes.

*The original recipe says to only use 1 cup of the cookie dough mixture with the 1/2 cup cream. I used the whole thing, and I had a little left over. No matter- I’ll be snacking on it periodically until the pain of my son growing up too quickly is dulled.*

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

