Training Tuesday

Well, I figured that since I’ve signed up for the half marathon, I should actually start running again. I’ve been lazy lately and I’ve really been feeling sluggish and gross. I reeeeaaallly didn’t want to run yesterday, but I made myself and I’m glad I did (I always am).

It was very hot, but that’s just something I’m going to have to get over. It’s not like I’m going to not run for 4 more months and then start to train- I’d be starting from scratch! Besides, sweating’s good right? I’ll just have to keep reminding myself of that.

The app I’ve been using is called “Half Marathon Trainer” and it’s pretty good, though I may end up trying another one. (I don’t have any complaints about this one- and it’s certainly a do-able program for someone like me- I just want to try others to see what I like.) Yesterday’s program was to warm up for 5 minutes, jog for 20, then cool down for 5.

Easy enough, I thought.

Ha.

Ha.

Well, yes. It would have been “easy enough,” had I kept up my running regime and not turned into a lazy slob. But it was tough and I was reminded why I shouldn’t take so much time off from running.

I completed it, though. I ran the whole 20 minutes, which ended up only being like a mile and a half (which means I slowed down on my time, too. Ugh). 

It was hot, and I wanted to quit, but I kept whispering to myself, “I’m not going to make it by quitting. I’m not going to do it by giving up.”

This sort of thing doesn’t normally work for me, but it did help yesterday. I think it also helped that my mom was riding my bike next to me with my son on the back (he has a bike seat, and he loves it). Knowing they were there and seeing him helped me to keep going. I don’t want him to grow up to be a quitter, so I need to set a good example for him. Yes, he’s only 2 1/2 and has no idea what I’m doing or what “quitting” is, but that doesn’t matter. I need to be an example.

So, this is really a thing. Come with me on my journey to the 3M Half Marathon. Knowing I have your unspoken support helps.

And I promise I won’t stop making cupcakes. Because no one likes a quitter.

This entry was posted in running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

