Pop-Tart Cupcakes

This is the last of the breakfast cupcakes.

For a little while.

Who ate Pop-Tarts as a kid? Answer: everyone.

Who still eats Pop-Tarts? Answer: me.

Most people thoroughly enjoy brown sugar cinnamon. Or at least, most of my friends do. I feel like I’m in the minority because I’m pleased with just plain ol’ strawberry (frosted, of course).

I recently introduced my son to Pop-Tarts. He’s a HUGE fan. In order to make myself feel better for feeding him something so nutritionally deficient (even though they are “made with real fruit”), I buy him the non-frosted variety. I’ll give him the frosted kind when he’s older and can appreciate it more. It’ll be like a rite of passage.

Since Pop-Tarts remind me of my childhood and make me all warm and fuzzy inside, when I saw these on Bake It In A Cake, I knew I had to make them for my breakfast cupcake order (well, that was my excuse. I would’ve made them anyway). I used the non-frosted Pop-Tarts for these, only because that’s what we had and I didn’t want to go to the store…again. I think they would’ve been better with the frosted kind, so it looks like I’ll just have to make them again sometime.

They’re ridiculously easy. Make them and impress your friends. And then laugh behind their backs because they had no idea how easy it was. (Not that that’s what I did or anything.)

Pop-Tart Cupcakes
makes 24-28 cupcakes

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 box vanilla cake mix, plus all ingredients called for on box
6-8 Pop-Tarts, flavor of your choice, cut into fourths

Frosting Ingredients:
(recipe from Baked Perfection)
2 sticks butter, softened
6 cups powdered sugar
pinch of salt
3 tablespoons vanilla
2-4 tablespoons milk
Multicolored nonpareils, for garnish, if desired

Directions:
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and line two cupcake tins with cupcake liners and set aside. Follow the directions on the back of the box for mixing. When putting the batter in the cups, fill about halfway full. Place a Pop-Tart fourth inside each cup and top with a little more batter. Bake according to the directions on the back of the box. Let cool for a few minutes in the pans, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

To make the frosting: Beat the butter and vanilla until creamy. Add salt. Add the powdered sugar, one cup at a time, beating after each addition until combined. Add the milk one tablespoon at a time until you reach the desired consistency. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes and sprinkle with nonpareils.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

