Pistachio Pudding Cupcakes

I love pistachios. Can you believe I’d never even tried one until a few years ago? It’s just tragic that I have parents that don’t love me enough to introduce me to the greatest nut known to man. I will not make the same mistake with my son.

Anyway, so now I’m into pistachio everything. When we went to Italy, pistachio gelato. Pistachio ice cream? Yes please. I recently (and happily) discovered they have pistachio pudding! Did y’all know about this?! I haven’t actually had it as “pudding” yet, but I have used it in a few recipes and it’s just delightful.

These cupcakes are more “cheater” cupcakes. That is to say, I used a cake mix for the cake part so I could focus on the frosting (which turned out to be so easy I could have easily make cupcakes from scratch and not been in the kitchen all night). But, really, is there anything wrong with using cake mix? I think not.

Pistachio Pudding Cupcakes
makes 24 cupcakes
(adapted from this recipe by Eat, Live, Run)

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 box white or vanilla or yellow cake mix (I used white)
butter, oil, eggs, water, or whatever it calls for on the back of the box

Frosting Ingredients:
1 cup cold milk
1 (3.4 ounce) package instant pistachio pudding mix
1 cup heavy cream (I just used regular whipping cream)
1/4 cup powdered sugar (I’d use more next time, for a thicker consistency. Use your own judgement)
roughly chopped roasted pistachios for garnish, if desired

Directions:
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 cupcake tins with liners and set aside. Follow the directions on the back of the box to make the cupcakes and bake according to the box directions (usually about 20 minutes). The cupcakes will be finished when the tops are springy to the touch and/or a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let them cool in the pans for a few minutes, then transfer them to wire racks to cool completely.

To make the frosting: Whip the cream with the powdered sugar until soft peaks form. In a separate bowl, whisk together the milk and the pudding mix. Fold the pudding mixture into the whipped cream and pipe onto cooled cupcakes.

Easy! Now go make them.

*Store cupcakes in the refrigerator .

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

