Chocolate Cherry Cupcakes with Almond Buttercream

You know what I hate?

Scorpions.

I’ve never actually been stung by one, but I know the day is coming and I live in fear.

My “classroom” at work is actually an old house down the road a little from our main campus. It’s in the woods. It has a crappy foundation. It’s like the house is inviting all the bugs from the woods to come into my room. I hate it.

Since I teach cooking, though, it’s really my only option at this time. Aaaand, since I love my job, I put up with it.

But I know the day will soon be here when I’ll feel the sting of one of Satan’s minions:

Pray for me, people. I don’t deal well with pain. (Yes, I’ve had a child, but I’m pretty sure they don’t give you an epidural to help relieve bug-bite pain.)

Do  you know what I don’t hate? Chocolate Cherry Cupcakes with Almond Buttercream.

I made these last week for a coworker of mine who wanted to take some cupcakes to her boyfriend for his birthday. They are so yummy, it’s ridiculous. The cake is just the right texture and not overly cherry-y and the almond buttercream is absolutely to DIE for. For realz.

Chocolate Cherry Cupcakes with Almond Buttercream
(adapted from Your Cup of Cake)
makes 24-26 cupcakes

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 box Devil’s Food cake mix
2 teaspoons almond extract
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 eggs
1 can cherry pie filling

Frosting Ingredients:
1 cup butter, softened
3 teaspoons almond extract
1 teaspoon vanilla
3-4 cups powdered sugar

Directions:
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 cupcake tins with liners and set aside.
In a food processor or blender, puree the can of cherry pie filling.
In a large bowl, beat the eggs, almond extract, and vanilla. Sift the cake mix into the egg mixture. Add the cherry pie filling and mix well. Spoon into cupcake liners and bake for 17-20 minutes or until the tops feel springy and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let cool for a few minutes in the pans, then remove to wire racks to cool completely.

To make the frosting: Beat the butter on medium speed for 5 minutes. Add the powdered sugar, almond extract, and vanilla and beat again until smooth. Add more powdered sugar for a thicker frosting. If frosting is too thick, add milk a tablespoon at a time until the desired texture is reached. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

