Training Tuesday

I finally reached my breaking point.

I’ve been in a real tough spot lately. I want to work out and run, but there are so many reasons not to. Here they are, in no particular order:

1) IT’S SO HOT!! By the time I drive home (with no a/c) after working all day, I just want to sit in a cool place and chill…literally.
2) I like to spend time with my son, who at the moment actually wants me to play with him. I know this phase will be over all too soon, and I want to be with him while he still wants to be with me, too.
3) I have a lot of catching up to do on TiVO.

Here’s what I’ve been telling myself when these excuses creep their way into my head:

1) Yeah, it’s hot. Get over it. It’s Texas. You’re already hot from driving home in the heat, might as well run in it, too! Otherwise, wake up in the morning and run while it’s still relatively cool…ish.
2) He’ll still be there in 30 minutes when you’re done running. And he probably won’t notice you’re gone.
3) Really? That doesn’t even dignify a response.

So last night I finally decided to buck up and get back in shape. I am the heaviest I’ve been in a long time and while it might not show to other people, I know and I hate it.  My clothes don’t fit like I want them to, I’m losing the definition in my legs and stomach that I had when I was running regularly, and most of all- I just feel out of shape!

Also, um…there’s this thing called “The First Half Marathon I’ve Ever Run In My Life” coming up in 6 months. I know that’s ample time to get ready but I need to start.

So I woke up at 5:15 this morning, which is a huge deal because I’m so not a morning person and can always justify sleeping more. Today, though, I didn’t give my brain a chance to talk my body out of it. As soon as the alarm went off, I got out of bed and got dressed so that by the time I realized what I was doing, I was ready to go.
I started over on my half-marathon trainer app. The app is a 6-day-a-week program to get you ready to run a half marathon in (supposedly) 12 weeks. I started back at day 1 because it had been so long since I’d run that I basically just needed a do-over.

Day 1 is: warm up for 5 minutes, run for 15 minutes, cool down for 5 minutes. I knew I wouldn’t have a problem doing that (I wasn’t that out of shape). Once I started the running portion, though, I realized just how much I’d slipped. Instead of my body doing what it needed to do and feeling natural to me, I felt awkward and uncomfortable for the first 6 or 7 minutes. I felt like Phoebe on the episode of Friends where she runs in the park (Friends fans know what I mean). My arms weren’t flailing uncontrollably, but I definitely felt off.

Halfway through I found my groove and finished strong. I probably could have run more, but I decided not to get crazy because that’s how injuries happen. I only did a mile and a half this morning, which I think is decent considering I haven’t run in a few months!

Stay tuned for more marathon-ing adventures!

Day one: check!

This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Training Tuesday

  1. Autumn says:

    Yay! Getting started is the hardest part. I have a hard time getting up early to exercise, too. I have to tell myself, “I will regret sleeping in. I won’t regret getting up to run.” Good luck going forward.

Leave a Reply

