Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes

What’s more “Southern summer” than strawberry shortcake?

Answer: nothing.

I made these cupcakes for a coworker who wanted to give them to her friend for her birthday. Her (crazy) friend doesn’t like chocolate (I KNOW.), and when we decided on these I was really excited.

I mean, I knew they’d be good, but seriously. These things are like eating a for real strawberry shortcake. It’s not like they’re strawberry-shortcake-wannabes. These guys are legit.

They made me glad it was summer. (By the way, I’m saying “they” because yes, I DID have more than one, thankyouverymuch. I had 2 1/2, actually. Don’t judge me.)

The one thing that gave me a little trouble was the frosting. Since it’s mostly made of Cool Whip, it is sort of runny. I even tried to put it in the freezer for a little bit but it still didn’t pipe well. They tasted great, but they didn’t look all that pretty and they had to be eaten with a fork. Not terrible problems to have, but not what I had envisioned.
I’m thinking perhaps if I had added a little more powdered sugar, that may have helped, but I’m not sure. Give it a shot, and let me know how it works for you. I’m open to all suggestions because I definitely want to make these again!

 Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes
makes 24 cupcakes
recipe adapted from Fabulous You

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 box white cake mix and egg whites, oil, and water necessary.

Filling Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups chopped fresh strawberries
1/3 cup sugar
2 1/2 tablespoons corn starch
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
3/4 cup water

Frosting Ingredients:
3 cups Cool Whip
1 cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:
To make the filling: Combine all ingredients in a medium saucepan and cook over medium heat until thickened (this won’t take very long). Let cool slightly, then place in refrigerator to cool completely.

To make the cupcakes: Bake according to the box directions; let cool completely.

To make the frosting: Mix all ingredients in a bowl until well blended.

To assemble the cupcakes: Cut a cone shape out of the middle of each cupcake (or use an apple corer to remove the insides). Eat the middles or throw them away. Fill the holes with the strawberry filling. Pipe the frosting onto the cupcakes and enjoy! (Store in the refrigerator.)

Easy, right? And so good, too…seriously.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strawberry Shortcake Cupcakes

  1. Shawn says:

    http://www.cutefoodforkids.com/2011/11/41-cutest-and-most-creative-christmas.html

    Saw this on Pinterest and thought of your baking business. Let me know if anyone from VOSH hires you from the email Isent out to my neighborhood, the new Shady Hollow.

Leave a Reply

