Pumpkin Cupcakes

Well, friends. Fall is upon us. (Even if the highs are still in the 90s here in Texas.)

I love fall. I love the cool, crisp weather (when it finally gets here in November), lightweight sweaters and scarves, and, of course, the football games. (What I do NOT love is my raging ragweed allergy, but the other stuff makes up for it.)

But I think what I love the most is the pumpkin recipes that I get to try out. Naturally, I would eat pumpkin things year-round, but that’s the food equivalent of wearing white after Labor Day, so I don’t.

Now it’s October, so it’s socially acceptable to dust off my cans of pumpkin that I’ve hoarded all year. So I did.

I made a lot of great pumpkin recipes last fall, and I may share some of the non-cupcake recipes with you.

It’s my blog. I can if I want to.

But for now…Pumpkin Cupcakes.

Pumpkin Cupcakes
makes 24 cupcakes
adapted slightly from Your Cup of Cake

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 box white cake mix
1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
3 eggs
1/2 cup oil
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup sour cream
2 teaspoons vanilla

Frosting Ingredients:
1 cup butter, softened
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon vanilla
3-4 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons canned pumpkin puree

Directions:
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 cupcake tins with liners and set aside.
In a large bowl, mix all the cupcake ingredients together with an electric mixer until smooth (about 2 minutes).
Fill the liners 3/4 full and bake for 17-22 minutes or until tops are springy and a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean. Let cupcakes cool in the tins for a few minutes, then place on wire racks to cool completely.

To make the frosting: Beat the butter on medium speed for 2 minutes. Add the pumpkin pie spice and the vanilla and beat some more. Slowly add the powdered sugar until you have reached the desired consistency. Add pumpkin puree and beat until combined. If this thins out the frosting too much, you can add a little more powdered sugar. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes.

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

