C's Construction Party!

My son turned 3 a few weeks ago. (Yeah. I’m finally getting around to writing this post. I’m aware I’ve been a slacker.)

I’m not sure how many of you have kids but it really is crazy how much faster time goes by when they’re around. Seriously; I blinked and he went from a sweet-smelling newborn who napped on my chest to a full-fledged big boy! (Emphasis on big: his pediatrician said at his check-up that he’s the size of a 4 year old. Then again, I get that news at every appointment. He’s a beast.)

For this year’s theme I went for “construction,” mainly because it’s so easy to do and I was able to think of a lot of activities to keep the kids busy (I’m not really one for awkward situations).

I started planning in March. Too soon? Not for me. I’m a planner, and besides that, I was having a super time putting it all together! I love doing stuff like this.

So, without further ado, here are some pictures of the big day. Enjoy!

I got a cardboard “3” at Hobby Lobby and a HUGE roll of construction tape from eBay (seriously- huge. Like, 1,000 feet. Anyone need construction tape?). I’ve also seen the tape at Home Depot, though. Wish I would have known that sooner. Anyway, I just wrapped the tape around the 3 and called it a day. It looks way better in this picture than it did in real life, though. It kind of started falling off. Still cute!

For the party favors, I found some cheap-o hard hats on eBay (I think), cheap little tools from Birthday in a Box, activity books from Dollar General, and tool belts from Home Depot ($.77 a piece). My mom sewed some felt over the Home Depot label and I used a paint pen to write the kids’ names on them. My mom also had some leather lying around (I know. Who has leather lying around?!), so she also added a little hammer holder on the sides of the aprons. So cute! (Thanks for your help, mom!)


I forget where I found these signs (probably eBay, like everything else), but they’re just poster board-like material and they came 4 to a package. I can’t remember now how much I paid for them but they were cheap (I’m on a budget, in case you can’t tell).

More use of the construction tape. I found a cool font online- all the letters are different tools! How cute is that?! Anyway, I printed out the letters, cut some cardstock to fit, and glued the cardstock to the construction tape. C actually helped me with this, and he was quite proud of himself.

Ahh, the food table. “3” balloons from eBay, construction cone from work, and cement blocks from Home Depot.


I got this dump truck from a great toy resale shop in Austin (Anna’s Toy Depot) for $14. I cleaned it and it was ready for the food table. Here, it was dumping “boulders” (grapes) into a bowl. (The bowls I got for his party last year in the Halloween section of Target.)
To dress up the tables a little, I taped some yellow ribbon to a black table cloth so that it looked like road stripes. I love the way it turned out!

Two kinds of cupcakes: chocolate (basically the base for the Snickers cupcakes but without the Snickers), and vanilla bean (told you I loved them). I topped both with cookie dough frosting, because what kid person doesn’t like cookie dough?! I sprinkled some with dirt (crushed Oreos) and some with rocks (they actually make chocolate candies that look just like rocks- I got them at a local ice cream parlor but some grocery stores carry them). Others were topped with tiny hard hat picks (found at a local bake shop) or tool picks (found on eBay for like $2.75).

What construction party would be complete without “rocky road” something?!  My son LOVES marshmallows, so I thought these would be perfect (and they were)!  I got the retro straws on the cheap from eBay, but they’re all the rage now and you can kind of find them anywhere. I’ve seen them in Michael’s often.
I poked a retro straw into a marshmallow and dipped them halfway into some milk chocolate candy melts. I then sprinkled them with some chopped toasted almonds. You need to do this quickly, because the candy melts harden before too long.
Easy!

The “wrecking balls” (a.k.a. cheese balls) were also quite popular, of course.

No fancy decorations needed for the kids’ table! Throw some toy trucks on there and call it a day! (They didn’t stay on the table long.)

This was, without a doubt, THE most popular activity we had! I bought a cardboard playhouse (from Zulily, but you can find them on several websites) and some washable paint and let the kids go to town! They loved it!

(I love the look on my nephew’s face here. He’s like, “Um, that’s not a good choice.”)

I bought some cardboard bricks (also from eBay) so the kids could have a “building” station.

My parents also recently built a huge sandbox for C and my nephew to play in. It got a lot of use that day, too!

Singing “Happy Birthday” to the birthday boy.

All in all, it was a successful party! Low-stress, easy, and totally fun (for the moms and the kids)! I kept it small, which I think is key, especially for such a young age.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to C's Construction Party!

  1. Autumn says:

    Very cute! Looks like fun

Leave a Reply

