Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

Ever since I made these cupcakes several months ago, my nephew asks me every single time I give him a cupcake if there’s a cookie on the bottom. Every. Single. Time.

They were a hit.

A friend of mine asked me to make birthday cupcakes for her friend’s daughter and gave me the freedom to decide what kind.

Now, I’ve had people do this to me before. This opportunity both excites me (“Yay! I get to try one of the millions of Pinterest recipes I haven’t made yet!”) and terrifies me (“WHAT?! I have to decide?! What if I choose wrong and they hate it or what if I try a new recipe and it sucks or what if they are disappointed in the flavor combinations and ohmygoodnessthisistoomuchpressureIcan’ttakeit!!”).

Clearly I have issues. Let’s move on.

I chose to make Cookies and Cream Cupcakes for said birthday girl. Every kid likes cookies and cupcakes so what little kid wouldn’t like them together? Also, who doesn’t like cookies and cream? Also, there’s an actual cookie in the bottom so I knew they’d go over well.

Well, I didn’t when I was little but clearly I was the exception. (Also, I didn’t like Oreos at first. WHAT?!)

If you’ve got a cookies and cream lover in your life, these must be made. The recipe is from Kristan at the Confessions of a Cookbook Queen blog and all of her stuff is amazing so pop over there and spend some time.

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes
makes 24 cupcakes (I actually got about 27, but only 24 had cookies in the bottom)
adapted slightly from the original recipe

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 box white cake mix
1 stick of butter, melted
1 cup water
3 eggs
24 whole Oreos

Filling Ingredients:
1 (7 ounce) jar marshmallow creme
1/2 stick of butter, softened
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons heavy cream
3/4 cup powdered sugar

Frosting Ingredients:
2 sticks salted butter, softened
2 tablespoons heavy cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
4 cups powdered sugar
7 Oreos, very finely crushed

Directions:
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a couple of cupcake tins with liners and place 1 whole Oreo into the bottom of each liner. Set aside.
In a large bowl, combine the cake mix, butter, water, and eggs. Beat on low speed for about 30 seconds, then increase the speed to medium (or high) and beat for another 2 minutes.
Fill the cupcake liners about 2/3 full and bake for about 20 minutes or until the tops of the cupcakes spring back when pressed. Let the cupcakes cool for a few minutes in the tins, then remove to wire racks to cool completely.

To make the filling: In a large bowl, beat the marshmallow creme, butter, vanilla, and cream on medium speed until creamy. Slowly add the powdered sugar and beat  on high for about a minute. Refrigerate until ready to use.
Once the cupcakes have cooled completely, remove the centers of the cupcakes, either by using an apple corer or by cutting a cone shape out with a paring knife. Eat or discard the centers (I kept them and dipped them in the leftover filling that I didn’t use. Yep. That’s how I roll.)
Place the filling into a large Ziploc-type bag and snip a TINY bit from one of the corners. Squeeze the filling into the center of each cupcake.

To make the frosting: In the bowl of a mixer, beat the butter, cream, and vanilla on medium-low until smooth and well combined. Slowly add the powdered sugar. Once the powdered sugar is mixed in, increase the speed to medium-high and beat for 2 minutes.  Fold in the crushed Oreos and pipe onto the cooled, filled cupcakes.

Share!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

