Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

Yes…another pumpkin recipe.

You should go ahead and get used to it. There are tons more coming. Besides, who doesn’t love pumpkin?!

Plus, these are ah-mazing. Light and fluffy spice cake with a little pumpkin thrown in for good measure and topped with an airy Cool-Whip-based pumpkin frosting. What’s not to love?

I don’t want to brag, but I took these to my date the other night and he said they were the best cupcakes he’s ever had.

So there.

Sorry- this is the only picture I took of them. I was in a hurry to take them to my date and forgot! Blame him. 🙂

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes
makes about 20 cupcakes
cupcakes adapted from a recipe by The Domestic Rebel
frosting adapted from this recipe

Cupcake Ingredients:
1 box spice cake mix
4 eggs
1/2 cup water
1/3 cup oil
1 cup pumpkin
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Frosting Ingredients:
1 small box pumpkin instant pudding
half of the milk called for on the package (should be 1 cup)
1 small carton Cool Whip

Directions:
To make the cupcakes: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 cupcake tins with about 20 liners (original recipe says 18, but I got 20). Set aside.
In a large bowl, combine all of the cupcake ingredients. Mix on low for 30 seconds, then on medium for 2 minutes. Divide cupcake batter among the liners, filling each one about 2/3 full. Bake for 14-16 minutes or until the tops are springy when touched. Let cool in the tins for a few minutes, then place them on wire racks to cool completely.

To make the frosting: In a medium bowl, mix the pudding mix with the milk and stir well. Add Cool Whip until you reached the desired consistency. (I added the whole tub of Cool Whip. I suggest doing it a little at a time because mine, though it was DELICIOUS, wasn’t quite as thick as I’d like.) Mix well and pipe onto cooled cupcakes!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

  1. Oh my goodness–these look so good! And Cool Whip frosting? I die!

  2. I wish I would have remembered to take actual pictures of the finished product! The frosting was great, though, and easily adaptable. Give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

